The Studio

The Studio

Hugues Losfeld created the Studio in 2008. It is located in North East France, in the town of Oeuilly, in the district of Laon. Hugues currently works across France and around the world. The Studio's expertise stays true to the ancient techniques influenced by the 18th century. These techniques can authentically reproduce and realistically interpret different periods and materials can be meticulously mimicked.

Oil paints

We mainly use linseed oil-based paints, which are both natural and traditional. We obtain colours and shades by adding natural pigments. Oil-based paint has been widely used for some time on historical monuments because of its longevity.

The size of linseed-oil molecules (50 times smaller than those of synthetic resins) penetrate the medium better. Oil paint also disperses well and it lets the medium breathe, and any moisture in the wood can evaporate. This type of paint does not contain resins, not even natural resins, which is why the paint disperses more readily. It does not flake, nor blister and it retains its elasticity for a long time. It is slow drying and it can simply be cleaned with a damp sponge once dry. Besides the advantage of colour, the smell of linseed oil will enhance the warm atmosphere of your room.

... and Hog Bristle Brushes

For the paints to work well, the painter's stroke is key. Here at the Hugues Losfeld Studio we never use rollers, but prefer to work with hog bristle brushes.
To apply paints we use brushes and spalters.
To smooth, stencil glaze and apply material effects we use codtail and badger hair brushes.

 We are experts in :

Restoration of decorative painting - Creation - Reproduction
Patina - Ornamentation
Faux wood and marble
Trompe l'oeil - Panorama
Grisaille - Grotesque
Gold leaf gilding

In the manner of 18th-Century Studios

The Hugues Losfeld Studio embraces the methods used in the 18th century: behind a master, several decorative painters work together. Hugues Losfeld works with painters whom he trains in his techniques and identity.

At the beginning of each project, it is Hugues Losfeld who defines and designs the drawings or material effects.

Once on site, Hugues will personally prepare the different pigment dosages to reach the optimal shade and he will also undertake to paint the expressive or noble effects of the decorations.

All project timescales and the hallmark "Atelier H.Losfeld" are guaranteed.

Hugues LOSFELD

Hugues Losfeld has always loved beautiful things that enliven and enhance interiors. His desire to balance and harmonise these elements led him to drawing, developed his imagination and sparked dreams.

He undertook studies at the Van der Kelen and Logelain Higher Institute of Painting in Brussels. This prestigious and well-known establishment was created in 1882 and is the only school to teach the ancient techniques of decorative painting. It was here that Hugues followed intensive technical training, while developing his sense of observation and mastery of the craft. On completion of his studies in 2008, Hugues was awarded a silver medal and he went on to found his Studio.

Today, he continues to paint and develops his business by training new decorative painters in his Studio.

His teams

Over the years, the studio has put together a team, of highly- qualified technically-skilled professionals.

They have all been trained to the highest-standards and meet the same technical excellence in a variety of disciplines: decorative painters, restorers, artists etc. Our dedicated team allows us to best meet the expectations and sometimes demanding requests of our clients.

Hugues Losfeld nevertheless remains the sole guarantor, designer, executor and main creator of each project.

Shopping Basket
en_GBEnglish (UK)
fr_FRFrançais en_GBEnglish (UK)

L'Atelier

L'Atelier

Crée en 2008 par Hugues Losfeld, l’Atelier est situé dans le Nord Est de la France, dans le pays de Laon, à Oeuilly (02). Les projets qui lui sont confiés l’emmènent à se rendre partout en France, ainsi qu’à l’étranger. Le Savoir-Faire de l’Atelier s’appuie essentiellement sur le respect des techniques anciennes inspirées du XVIIIème. Ces techniques permettent de transcrire et d’interpréter les différentes époques avec authenticité et réalisme ou d’imiter les matières dans leur profondeur.

Des Peintures à L’huile

Naturelles et traditionnelles, les peintures utilisées sont essentiellement composées à base d’huile de lin. Les couleurs et teintes sont obtenues par l’ajout de pigments naturels. L’utilisation de l’huile est répandue depuis un certain temps auprès des monuments historiques car elle garantit une bien meilleure longévité.

La taille des molécules d’huile de Lin (50 fois plus petites que celles des résines de synthèses) permet une bonne pénétration du support. La peinture à l’huile possède ainsi une bonne capacité de diffusion :  elle laisse le support respirer, l’humidité éventuellement contenue dans le bois peut s’évacuer. En outre, cette peinture ne contient pas de résines, même naturelles, qui limitent la capacité de diffusion : elle ne s’écaille pas, elle ne cloque pas, elle garde son élasticité pendant longtemps et ne s’use que lentement en surface. Une fois sèche, elle a l’avantage de pouvoir être nettoyée avec une simple éponge humide. Par ailleurs, au-delà même de la couleur, l’huile de lin contribuera par son odeur à l’ambiance chaleureuse de votre pièce.

… et des Pinceaux à base de soies de Porc

Le geste du peintre est important pour la bonne pénétration des peintures. L’atelier Hugues Losfeld n’utilise jamais de rouleau et préfère les pinceaux à base de soies de porc.
Pour l’application des peintures : des brosses et des spalters,
Pour les lissages, les pochages des glacis et les effets de matières : « queues de morue » et des « blaireaux ».

 Savoir-faire de l’Atelier H.Losfeld :

Restauration de décors peints – Création – Restitution
Patines – Ornementations
Imitations de bois et de marbres
Trompes l’œil – Panoramique
Grisailles – Grotesques
Dorure à la feuille

A la manière du XVIIIème

L’Atelier Hugues Losfeld travaille à la manière des ateliers du XVIIIème : derrière un maître, plusieurs peintres en décor peuvent œuvrer ensemble. Ainsi Hugues Losfeld s’appuie sur des peintres qu’il forme à ses techniques et à son identité.

En amont de chaque projet, seul Hugues Losfeld définit et conçoit les dessins ou les effets matières.

Sur place, il réalise lui-même les différents dosages de pigments pour obtenir la teinte idéale  et il s’appliquera à peindre les parties expressives ou nobles des décors.

Les délais des chantiers et la signature de l’Atelier H.Losfeld sont ainsi garantis.

Hugues LOSFELD

Depuis toujours, Hugues Losfeld s’intéresse aux belles choses qui animent et ornent les intérieurs. Son goût pour l’équilibre et l’harmonie des éléments l’amène à dessiner, à imaginer, à rêver…

Il intègre l’Institut Supérieur de Peinture Van der Kelen et Logelain de Bruxelles. Crée en 1882 , ce temple ancestral reconnu par ses pairs, est la seule école à enseigner les techniques anciennes de la peinture en décor. Il y fera un apprentissage technique et intensif, tout en renforçant son sens de l’observation et sa maîtrise rationnelle du geste. Il en sort médaillé d’argent en 2008 et fonde son Atelier.

Aujourd’hui, il continue à peindre et développe son entreprise en formant de nouveaux peintres en décor au sein de son atelier.

Ses équipes

Au fil des expériences, l’atelier a su rassembler autour de lui des professionnels hautement qualifiés pour leurs compétences techniques.

Tous sont issus des meilleures écoles et répondent aux mêmes exigences d’excellence, à la même éthique professionnelle : peintres en décor, restaurateurs, artistes peintres… ce réseau permet de répondre au mieux aux attentes et aux demandes parfois exigeantes des clients.

Accompagné, Hugues Losfeld reste néanmoins le seul garant, le concepteur, l’exécutant et le principal initiateur de chaque projet.

Shopping Basket
fr_FRFrançais
en_GBEnglish (UK) fr_FRFrançais